Real Estate listings near Durham District School Board

The Durham District School Board (DDSB; known as English-language Public District School Board No. 13 prior to 1999) is an Anglophone, secular public school board in Ontario, Canada. The DDSB serves most of the Regional Municipality of Durham, except for schools within the Municipality of Clarington, which belongs to the Kawartha Pine Ridge District School Board. The Durham District School Board Education Centre (head office) is in Whitby. The school board has families of schools (Pickering, Ajax, Whitby, Oshawa, and Brock/Uxbridge/Scugog), each of which has two trustees except Oshawa, which has three. Three student trustees, using a non-binding, recorded vote, represent the region of Durham. In total the school board has more than 7000 staff who serve approximately 46 000 elementary and 24 000 secondary school students. A unique program to the Durham District School Board that is running in a number of its secondary schools is called the Culture of Peace Committee, which works on a wide variety of social and humanitarian issues within the schools and in the community. The Durham District School Board operates a gifted program in select schools. This program is an enrichment course that teaches at an accelerated rate, for students from Grade 4 to 12. Students are given a test in mathematics, logic and literacy in Grade 3. Students who show themselves to be in the top 1% of students in the region are accepted into the program.