Real Estate listings near York County, Ontario

York County is a historic county in Upper Canada, Canada West, and the Canadian province of Ontario. York County was created on 16 June 1792 and was part of the jurisdiction of the Home District of Upper Canada. It originally comprised all of what is now the regional municipalities of York, Peel, and Halton, and the city of Toronto, as well as parts of Durham Regional Municipality and the city of Hamilton. Toronto was the county seat. In 1816, Wentworth and Halton counties were created from York County. In 1851, Ontario and Peel counties were separated from York. In 1953, the city of Toronto; the towns of New Toronto, Mimico, Weston, and Leaside; the villages of Long Branch, Swansea, and Forest Hill; and the townships of Etobicoke, York, North York, East York, and Scarborough seceded from York County to form Metropolitan Toronto. The county office was moved to Newmarket from Toronto. The Adelaide Street Court House and the Old City Hall remain from buildings used by York County during this time period. In 1971, the remaining portion of York County was replaced by the York Regional Municipality.